Privacy Policy

The protection of personal information is an integral part of doing business at The Empire Life Insurance Company (“Empire Life” or “the company”). Protecting personal information is important to us and this policy sets out how we collect and manage personal information in a manner that protects the personal privacy of our clients, contractors and employees.

What is personal information?

"Personal information" means any factual or subjective information concerning an identifiable individual. Personal information may be collected concerning a variety of individuals with whom our company does business, including from group and individual life insured, beneficiaries, employees, contractors and brokers.

Personal information can be collected in a variety of forms, including written (such as correspondence and memoranda) as well as electronic communications and records, video or audio recordings and photographs.

Examples of personal information include information concerning an individual's name, age, sex, health, personal characteristics or personal and financial circumstances. Personal information can also include such things as identification numbers (such as SIN or employee numbers), banking and income information, employment records, credit records and medical information.

Personal information does not include the name, title or business address, telephone number or e-mail address of employees of an organization.

At Empire Life, we follow 10 privacy principles:


Principle 1:  Accountability

Empire Life is responsible for personal information under its control and has designated an individual or individuals who are accountable for compliance with this policy. .

Empire Life, its employees and contractors are responsible for all personal information in their possession or control, including information that has been obtained from or transferred to a third party for processing.

A Privacy Officer has been designated as accountable for adherence by Empire Life to this policy and applicable privacy statutes, regulations and guidelines. Where appropriate, the responsibilities of the Privacy Officer may be delegated to an individual or individuals within a particular business area familiar with the nature of the personal information collected within the area and any special needs the area may have concerning the protection of personal information.

Principle 2: Identifying Purposes

Empire Life will identify the purposes for which personal information is being collected before or at the time that the information is collected.

Empire Life collects personal information in a number of ways. For example, information may be collected on an application or claim form, during a personal interview or through other means. Prior to or at the time of collection, Empire Life will identify the purpose of collection. This may be communicated in writing or orally, depending upon the manner in which the information is collected.

Persons collecting personal information are expected to be able to explain to individuals the purposes for which the information is being collected.

Empire Life will not collect, use, or disclose information beyond that required to fulfill the purposes specified at the time of collection.

Unless the new purpose is required by law, before using personal information for a purpose not previously identified, the company will identify the new purpose and obtain the consent of the individual to its use.

Principle 3: Consent

Empire Life must obtain the knowledge and consent of the individual to the collection, use and disclosure of personal information, except where inappropriate.

Usually, Empire Life will obtain consent for the use or disclosure of personal information at the time of collection. Sometimes, consent will be obtained after the information has been collected but prior to use (for example, when the company wishes to use information for a purpose not previously identified).

Empire Life may seek consent in a variety of ways, depending on the circumstances and the type of information collected. The company will generally seek express consent when the personal information is likely to be considered sensitive (such as medical or income records).

Sometimes consent may be obtained from an authorized representative, such as a legal guardian or person holding a power of attorney.

Implied consent may be inferred in circumstances where the information is less sensitive and consent to collection, use or disclosure can be reasonably inferred.

In certain limited circumstances, personal information can be collected, used, or disclosed without the knowledge and consent of the individual. For example, legal, medical, or security reasons may make it impossible or impractical to seek consent. When information is being collected for the investigation of a potential breach of contract, the prevention or detection of fraud or for law enforcement purposes, seeking the consent of the individual might defeat the purpose of collecting the information. Similarly, seeking consent may be impossible or inappropriate when the individual is a minor, seriously ill, or otherwise incapacitated.

An individual may withdraw consent at any time, subject to legal or contractual restrictions and reasonable notice. Empire Life will inform the individual of the implications of such withdrawal, which may include termination of a policy, termination of benefits or inability to process a claim.

Principle 4: Limiting Collection

The collection of personal information will be limited to that which is reasonably necessary for the purposes identified by Empire Life. Information shall be collected only by fair and lawful means.

The company will not collect personal information indiscriminately. Both the amount and the type of information collected shall be limited to that which is reasonably necessary to fulfil the purposes identified.

Information will be collected in a manner that complies with the company's obligations to identify the purpose of collection and to obtain the consent of the individual to collection, use and disclosure of personal information.

Principle 5: Limiting Use, Disclosure, and Retention

Empire Life will not use or disclose personal information for purposes other than those for which it was collected, except with the consent of the individual or in accordance with the exceptions set out above. Personal information will be retained only as long as necessary for the fulfilment of those purposes.

Personal information that has been used to make a decision about an individual will be retained long enough to allow the individual access to the information after the decision has been made.

Personal information that is no longer required to fulfil its purpose shall be destroyed in accordance with Empire Life record retention and destruction policies and procedures.

Principle 6: Accuracy

Personal information will be as accurate, complete and up-to-date as is necessary for the purposes for which it is to be used.

The extent to which personal information shall be updated will depend upon the use of the information, taking into account the interests of the individual. Information will be sufficiently accurate, complete and up-to-date to minimize the possibility that inappropriate information may be used to make a decision about the individual.

Empire Life will not routinely update personal information, unless such a process is necessary to fulfil the purposes for which the information was collected.

Principle 7: Safeguards

Personal information will be protected by security safeguards appropriate to the sensitivity of the information.

Empire Life has implemented security safeguards and appropriate training to protect personal information against loss or theft, as well as unauthorized access, disclosure, copying, use or modification.


Security safeguards vary depending on the nature and format of the information collected. The methods of protection include physical, organizational and technological measures designed to limit access to authorized persons, ensure the integrity of the information and protect it from unauthorized use or disclosure.

Security safeguards also include steps to ensure that all third parties with whom we contract and who may be required to handle personal information have implemented comparable security measures.

Principle 8: Openness

Empire Life will make readily available to individuals specific information about its policies and practices relating to the management of personal information.

The information made available shall include:

  • the name or title, and the address, of those accountable for the company's policies and practices and to whom complaints or inquiries can be forwarded;
  • the means of gaining access to personal information held by the company;
  • a description of the type of personal information held by the company and a general account of its use;
  • a copy of this policy and any other brochures or information that explain or elaborate upon this policy; and
  • what personal information is made available to related organizations or subsidiaries.

Principle 9: Individual Access

Upon request, an individual will be informed of the existence, use, and disclosure of his or her personal information and shall be given access to that information. An individual will be able to challenge the accuracy and completeness of the information and have it amended as appropriate..

Upon request, Empire Life will inform an individual whether or not it holds personal information about the individual, will permit the individual to access the information and provide an account of the use made of the information, including any disclosure to third parties. Empire Life may choose to make sensitive medical information available through a medical practitioner designated by the individual.

In certain situations, Empire Life may not be able to provide access to all of the personal information is holds about an individual. Exceptions to the access requirement will be limited and specific, and the reasons for denying access will be provided to the individual upon requests. Exceptions may include information that is prohibitively costly to provide, information that contains references to other individuals, information that cannot be disclosed for legal, security, or commercial proprietary reasons, information that has been obtained in the course of an investigation of a potential breach of contract or fraud, and information that is subject to privilege.

Empire Life will respond to an individual’s request within a reasonable time and at minimal or no cost to the individual. The requested information will be provided or made available in a form that is generally understandable. For example, when abbreviations or codes are used an explanation will be provided upon request. If the individual requests copies of any of the documents in the company's file, a reasonable fee may be charged for duplication.

When an individual successfully demonstrates the inaccuracy or incompleteness of personal information, Empire Life will amend the information as required. Depending on the nature of the information challenged, amendment may mean the correction, deletion or addition of information.

When a challenge is not resolved to the satisfaction of the individual, the substance of the challenge will be recorded. The individual will also be entitled to place in the file a statement as to their position and the documents they rely on in support of that position.

Principle 10: Challenging Compliance

An individual may address a challenge concerning compliance with this policy to the Chief Privacy Officer at Empire Life.

Empire Life will inform individuals who make inquiries or lodge complaints of the applicable complaint handling protocol.

Empire Life will investigate and respond to all complaints in accordance with the applicable departmental complaint handling protocol. If a complaint is found to be justified, Empire Life will take appropriate measures, including if necessary, amending its policies and procedures.

Related Material

Politique en matière de protection des renseignements personnels

La protection des renseignements personnels fait partie intégrante des habitudes de travail préconisées par L'Empire, Compagnie d'Assurance-Vie (« Empire Vie » ou « la société »). Nous attachons une grande importance à la protection des renseignements personnels, comme en témoigne notre présente politique dans laquelle nous indiquons les moyens que nous mettons en œuvre pour recueillir et gérer les renseignements personnels de nos clients, de nos fournisseurs et des membres de notre personnel, tout en protégeant leur vie privée.

Que faut-il entendre par « renseignements personnels »?

Dans le présent document, nous entendons par « renseignement personnel » tout renseignement factuel ou subjectif se rapportant à une personne identifiable. Nous pouvons recueillir des renseignements personnels auprès d'une variété de personnes avec qui notre société fait affaire, notamment des personnes assurées individuellement ou collectivement, des bénéficiaires, des employés, des fournisseurs et des courtiers.

Les renseignements personnels peuvent être recueillis de différentes manières, notamment sous forme écrite (par ex., correspondance et notes de service), ou encore sous forme de communications et de dossiers électroniques, de photographies ou d'enregistrements vidéo ou audio.

Les renseignements personnels peuvent notamment inclure le nom, l'âge, le sexe, l'état de santé, les caractéristiques personnelles ou la situation personnelle et financière d'une personne. Ils peuvent également comprendre des éléments tels que des numéros d'identification (par ex., numéro d'assurance sociale ou numéro d'employé), des renseignements portant sur des comptes bancaires ou sur le revenu, des dossiers d'emploi, des dossiers de crédit et des renseignements médicaux.

Le nom, le titre ainsi que l'adresse, le numéro de téléphone ou l'adresse de courriel au travail d'un employé d'une entreprise ne sont pas considérés comme étant des renseignements personnels.

Tous les membres du personnel de l'Empire Vie suivent les dix principes ci-dessous en matière de protection des renseignements personnels :


Principe 1 : Responsabilité

L'Empire Vie est responsable des renseignements personnels qui lui sont confiés et a désigné une ou plusieurs personnes pour veiller au respect de la présente politique.

L'Empire Vie, les membres de son personnel et ses fournisseurs assument la responsabilité de tous les renseignements personnels en leur possession ou sous leur contrôle, y compris les renseignements obtenus d'un tiers ou transférés à un tiers à des fins de traitement.

Un chef de la protection des renseignements personnels a été désigné pour veiller à la conformité de l'Empire Vie à la présente politique ainsi qu'aux lois, aux règlements et aux lignes directrices applicables en matière de protection des renseignements personnels. S'il y a lieu, il est possible de déléguer les responsabilités du chef de la protection des renseignements personnels à une ou plusieurs personnes d'un secteur particulier de la société connaissant bien la nature des renseignements personnels recueillis au sein de ce secteur ainsi que les besoins particuliers que pourrait avoir ce secteur en matière de protection des renseignements personnels.


Principe 2 : Détermination des fins de la collecte des renseignements

L'Empire Vie précisera l'usage qu'elle compte faire des renseignements personnels, au moment de leur collecte ou avant.

L'Empire Vie a recours à divers moyens pour recueillir les renseignements personnels, par exemple, par l'intermédiaire d'une proposition ou d'une demande de règlement, dans le cadre d'un entretien personnel ou par toute autre méthode. Au moment de la collecte des renseignements, ou avant, l'Empire Vie indiquera l'usage qu'elle compte en faire. Cette précision pourra être communiquée par écrit ou verbalement, selon la manière dont les renseignements sont recueillis.

Les personnes qui recueillent les renseignements personnels doivent être en mesure d'expliquer les motifs pour lesquels les renseignements sont recueillis.

L'Empire Vie recueillera, utilisera et communiquera uniquement les renseignements dont elle a besoin aux fins précisées au moment de la collecte.

Avant d'utiliser des renseignements personnels à des fins non prévues à l'origine, la société communiquera avec la personne concernée pour lui expliquer le nouvel usage qu'elle compte faire des renseignements et obtenir son consentement préalable, à moins que ce nouvel usage ne soit prescrit par la loi.


Principe 3 : Consentement

L'Empire Vie doit obtenir de la personne son consentement à la collecte, à l'utilisation et à la communication des renseignements personnels, sauf lorsque ce consentement est inapproprié.

Généralement, l'Empire Vie obtiendra le consentement à l'utilisation ou à la communication des renseignements personnels au moment de leur collecte. Parfois, le consentement sera obtenu après la collecte des renseignements, mais avant leur utilisation (par ex., lorsque la société désire utiliser des renseignements à des fins qui n'ont pas été précisées à l'origine).

L'Empire Vie peut solliciter le consentement de diverses façons, selon les circonstances et la nature des renseignements à recueillir. La société sollicitera le plus souvent un consentement exprès si la confidentialité des renseignements personnels ne fait aucun doute (par ex., les renseignements d'ordre médical ou portant sur le revenu).

Parfois, le consentement pourra être obtenu auprès d'un représentant autorisé, par exemple un tuteur légal ou une personne disposant d'une procuration.

Un consentement peut être implicitement accordé dans les cas où les renseignements sont peu confidentiels et que le consentement à leur collecte, utilisation ou communication peut raisonnablement être sous-entendu.

Dans certains cas restreints, des renseignements personnels peuvent être recueillis, utilisés ou divulgués à l'insu de la personne ou sans son consentement. Par exemple, pour des raisons juridiques, médicales ou sécuritaires qui peuvent rendre impossible ou impraticable l'obtention du consentement. Lorsque des renseignements sont recueillis dans le cadre d'une enquête sur une violation éventuelle de contrat, à des fins de prévention ou de détection de fraudes ou de répression criminelle, la sollicitation du consentement peut aller à l'encontre de l'objectif visé par la collecte des renseignements. De même, il peut être impossible ou inapproprié de solliciter le consentement d'une personne d'âge mineur, gravement malade ou autrement inapte.

Une personne peut retirer son consentement en tout temps, sous réserve de certaines restrictions juridiques ou contractuelles et d'un préavis raisonnable. L'Empire Vie expliquera à la personne les conséquences possibles du retrait de son consentement, comme par exemple la résiliation de son contrat, la cessation de ses avantages ou l'incapacité de traiter ses demandes de règlement.


Principe 4 : Limites de la collecte

La collecte se limitera aux seuls renseignements personnels jugés raisonnablement nécessaires aux fins précisées par l'Empire Vie. Seuls des moyens équitables et légaux seront utilisés pour recueillir les renseignements.

La société recueillera les renseignements personnels avec discernement. La quantité et la nature des renseignements recueillis se limiteront aux seuls renseignements jugés raisonnablement nécessaires aux fins précisées.

Les renseignements seront recueillis conformément à l'obligation de la société de préciser l'usage prévu des renseignements et d'obtenir le consentement de la personne à la collecte, à l'utilisation et à la communication des renseignements personnels.


Principe 5 : Limites de l'utilisation, de la communication et de la conservation

L'Empire Vie utilisera ou communiquera les renseignements personnels aux seules fins pour lesquelles ils ont été recueillis, à moins que la personne ne consente à ce qu'ils soient utilisés ou communiqués pour d'autres fins ou conformément aux exceptions décrites ci-dessus. Les renseignements personnels seront conservés uniquement pendant la durée nécessaire aux fins précisées..

Les renseignements personnels utilisés dans le but de rendre une décision concernant une personne seront conservés suffisamment longtemps pour qu'elle puisse y avoir accès après que la décision a été rendue.

Les renseignements personnels qui ne sont plus nécessaires aux fins pour lesquelles ils ont été recueillis doivent être détruits conformément à la politique et aux procédures de l'Empire Vie en matière de conservation et de destruction des dossiers.


Principe 6 : Exactitude

Les renseignements personnels seront aussi exacts, complets et à jour que nécessaire aux fins pour lesquelles ils sont destinés.

L'utilisation des renseignements déterminera l'étendue de la mise à jour des renseignements personnels, tout en tenant compte des intérêts de la personne. Les renseignements seront suffisamment exacts, complets et à jour pour réduire au minimum les risques qu'une décision se rapportant à une personne soit fondée sur des renseignements inappropriés.

L'Empire Vie ne mettra pas régulièrement à jour les renseignements personnels, à moins que ne l'exigent les fins pour lesquelles ils ont été recueillis.


Principe 7 : Mesures de sécurité

Les renseignements personnels seront protégés par des mesures de sécurité appropriées selon leur niveau de sensibilité..

L'Empire Vie a mis en place des mesures de sécurité ainsi que des séances de formation appropriées afin de protéger les renseignements personnels contre la perte ou le vol, et contre l'accès, la communication, la reproduction, l'utilisation ou la modification non autorisés.

Les mesures de sécurité dépendent de la nature des renseignements recueillis de même que du support sur lequel ils sont conservés. Les méthodes de protection comprennent notamment des mesures de sécurité matérielles, organisationnelles et technologiques destinées à restreindre l'accès aux renseignements aux seules personnes autorisées, à assurer l'intégrité des renseignements et à les protéger contre l'utilisation et la communication non autorisées.

Les méthodes de protection comprennent également les mesures visant à s'assurer que tous les tiers avec qui nous signons des ententes et qui peuvent être appelés à manipuler les renseignements personnels disposent de mesures de sécurité comparables.


Principe 8 : Transparence

L'Empire Vie mettra à la disposition immédiate des particuliers des renseignements précis sur ses politiques et pratiques relatives à la gestion des renseignements personnels.

Les renseignements ainsi mis à la disposition des particuliers comprendront :

  • le nom ou le titre, ainsi que l'adresse, des personnes responsables des pratiques et des politiques de la société et auxquelles les plaintes ou les demandes de renseignements peuvent être transmises;
  • les moyens d'accéder aux renseignements personnels détenus par la société;
  • une description du type de renseignements personnels détenus par la société ainsi qu'un aperçu général de leur utilisation;
  • un exemplaire de la présente politique et de tout autre document d'information expliquant ou approfondissant cette politique; et
  • la nature des renseignements personnels mis à la disposition d'organisations affiliées ou de filiales.

Principe 9 : Accès aux renseignements personnels

Si une personne en fait la demande, l'Empire Vie l'informera de l'existence, de l'utilisation et de la communication des renseignements personnels qui la concernent et lui donnera accès à ceux-ci. Une personne pourra contester l'exactitude et l'exhaustivité de ces renseignements et demander que des modifications y soient apportées au besoin..

Sur demande, l'Empire Vie indiquera à la personne si des renseignements personnels sont détenus ou non à son sujet, permettra à la personne d'accéder aux renseignements et lui fournira une description des usages auxquels ils sont réservés, y compris toute communication à des tiers. Dans le cas de renseignements médicaux confidentiels, l'Empire Vie peut choisir de les mettre à la disposition de la personne par l'entremise d'un médecin praticien désigné par la personne.

Dans certaines situations, l'Empire Vie peut ne pas être en mesure d'accorder l'accès à la totalité des renseignements personnels qu'elle détient au sujet d'une personne. Les exceptions aux besoins d'accès à des renseignements seront limitées et spécifiques, et les raisons justifiant le refus de cet accès seront fournies sur demande. Parmi les renseignements visés par ces exceptions, notons les renseignements qui seraient beaucoup trop coûteux à fournir, les renseignements faisant référence à d'autres personnes, les renseignements qui ne peuvent être divulgués pour des raisons juridiques, de sécurité ou d'intérêt commercial, les renseignements qui ont été obtenus dans le cadre d'une enquête judiciaire sur une violation éventuelle de contrat ou sur une fraude ainsi que les renseignements subordonnés au secret professionnel.

L'Empire Vie répondra aux demandes de la personne dans des délais raisonnables et en contrepartie de frais minimes, voire nuls. Les renseignements demandés seront fournis dans une forme généralement compréhensible. Par exemple, lorsque des abréviations ou des codes seront utilisés, une explication sera fournie sur demande. Si la personne demande une copie de tout document se trouvant dans un dossier de l'Empire Vie, des frais raisonnables pourront être exigés pour la duplication de celui-ci.

Si une personne parvient à démontrer que des renseignements personnels sont inexacts ou incomplets, l'Empire Vie apportera les modifications nécessaires. Selon la nature des renseignements contestés, la modification pourra prendre la forme d'une correction, d'un ajout ou d'une suppression de renseignements.

Si une plainte n'est pas réglée à la satisfaction de la personne, le fondement de la plainte sera consigné. La personne pourra également verser au dossier une déclaration résumant sa position, de même que les documents sur lesquels elle appuie cette position.


Principe 10 : Facilitation du dépôt des plaintes

Une personne peut protester contre tout manquement à la présente politique auprès du chef de la protection des renseignements personnels de l'Empire Vie.

L'Empire Vie fera connaître aux personnes qui présentent une demande de renseignements ou qui déposent une plainte le protocole de traitement des plaintes applicable.

L'Empire Vie fera enquête sur toutes les plaintes et y donnera suite conformément au protocole de traitement des plaintes applicable du service. Si la société juge que la plainte est fondée, l'Empire Vie prendra des mesures appropriées. Par exemple, elle pourra modifier ses politiques et ses procédures, s'il y a lieu.