Advisor Designations

You may notice that there are letters after your financial advisor's name. These are designations the advisor received by successfully completing financial-related courses.

Here is a list of the more common designations:


How it's earned

CFP – Certified Financial Planner

CFP is an internationally recognized designation that is awarded in Canada by the Financial Planners Standards Council (FPSC).

CH.F.C. – Chartered Financial Consultant

After obtaining a CLU designation, an advisor can take additional courses in the areas of personal finance and retirement planning to earn this designation from Advocis, the Financial Advisors Association of Canada.

CLU – Chartered Life Underwriter

Advisors who complete courses in the areas of insurance and estate planning earn this designation from Advocis.

Fin. Pl. – Financial Planner

Advisors in Quebec earn this designation after earning the CFP and CLU designations.

FLMI – Fellow, Life Management Institute

Advisors who pass 10 university-level examinations (LOMA courses) covering various aspects of life and heath insurance earn this designation from the Life Office Management Association (LOMA).

CEBS – Certified Employee Benefit Specialist

Advisors who pass 10 university-level examinations covering various aspects of health and welfare, retirement, human resources, compensation and other topics related to employee benefits earn this designation from the International Foundation of Employee Benefit Plans (IFEBP).

RHU – Registered Health Underwriter


A professional financial advisor specializing in living benefits including income replacement and risk management solutions for individuals, business owners and professionals earns the RHU designation through Advocis.